Spring 2020 Academic Calendar

Date Detail
Thursday, Nov. 7 - Monday, Jan. 27, 2020 Registration period for graduate and undergraduate students. From Dec. 14 to Jan. 3, 2020, registration in Sage will only be open between noon and 11:59 p.m. EDT to accommodate financial aid processing.
Friday, Jan. 10 New students arrive on campus; residence halls open for new students only.
Sunday, Jan. 12 Residence halls open for returning students.
Monday, Jan. 13 First day of instruction.
Monday, Jan. 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day: No university exercises, staff holiday.
Monday, Jan. 27 Last day to add semester and Module I classes. All work for fall term 2019 incompletes due to instructors. Last day for seniors graduating in May to declare or drop a major or minor.
Friday, Jan. 31

First day for undergraduates to elect pass/fail option for a class taken in the current term.

Monday, Feb. 3 Grades replacing fall 2019 incompletes due.
Monday, Feb. 10 Last day to drop or change grading option of Module I courses to audit (instructor’s permission required).
Monday, Feb. 17 Presidents Day: Staff holiday.
Monday, Feb. 17 - Friday, Feb. 21 Midterm recess: No university exercises.
Monday, March 2 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses without a "W" transcript notation (instructor's permission required).
Monday, March 2 Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail option for the current term and to request a "P" grade for the preceding term (at 5 p.m.)
Friday, March 6 Undergraduate midterm grades due.
Tuesday, March 17 Spring Module I grades due.
Monday, March 23 – Wednesday, March 25 Spring recess: No university exercises.
Monday, March 30 Last day to add Module II courses.
Tuesday, April 7

Brandeis Thursday: Thursday class schedule in effect.

Tuesday, April 7 Last day to drop or change grading option of Module II courses to audit (instructor's permission required).
Noon, Wednesday, April 8 – Friday, April 10 Passover recess: No university exercises, starting at noon April 8th.
Monday, April 13 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses with a "W" transcript notation (instructor's permission required).
Monday, April 13 Last day for graduate students to drop semester courses or change grading basis to audit (instructor's permission required).
Wednesday, April 15 – Thursday, April 16 Passover recess: No university exercises.
Monday, April 20 Patriots Day: Classes in session, staff holiday
Monday, April 20 Early registration for fall term 2020 Module I and II courses for International Business School students only.
Tuesday, April 21 - Friday, April 24 Early registration period for fall term 2020.
Wednesday, April 29

Last day of instruction. Last day to voluntarily withdraw from the term (written notification required).

Thursday, April 30 - Friday, May 1 Make-up days. To provide an opportunity for additional office hours between faculty and students, review sessions, and end of course reflective sessions as well as time for students to complete coursework, projects, presentations, and other assignments. Faculty should not use this time to require additional work or assignments from students.
Monday, May 4 - Tuesday, May 5 Study days - no obligatory class activities such as exams, presentations, or requiring papers to be due may be scheduled for these days.
Wednesday, May 6 - Thursday, May 14 Final examination period.
Friday, May 15, at noon Residence halls close for all undergraduates, including seniors.
Sunday, May 17, at noon All grades for May degree recipients due.
Monday, May 18

Last day for graduating seniors to convert current term enrollments to a "P."

Last day for graduate students receiving May degrees to convert current term enrollments to "CR/NC."

Tuesday, May 19 Department degree meetings.
Thursday, May 21 Faculty meeting.
Sunday, May 24 Official May degree conferral date. Degrees completed between May 25 and May 31 will have a conferral date of May 24, all later completions will be moved to August 31.
Monday, June 1 All other spring term grades due.
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day: Staff holiday.
Friday, May 29 Shavuot.
Tuesday, June 30 All work for spring term 2020 incompletes due to instructors.