Spring 2020 Academic Calendar

Date Detail
Thursday, Nov. 7 - Monday, Jan. 27, 2020 Registration period for graduate and undergraduate students. From Dec. 14 to Jan. 3, 2020, registration in Sage will only be open between noon and 11:59 p.m. EDT to accommodate financial aid processing.
Friday, Jan. 10 New students arrive on campus; residence halls open for new students only.
Sunday, Jan. 12 Residence halls open for returning students.
Monday, Jan. 13 First day of instruction.
Monday, Jan. 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day: No university exercises, staff holiday.
Monday, Jan. 27 Last day to add semester and Module I classes. All work for fall term 2019 incompletes due to instructors. Last day for seniors graduating in May to declare or drop a major or minor.
Friday, Jan. 31

First day for undergraduates to elect pass/fail option for a class taken in the current term.

Monday, Feb. 3 Grades replacing fall 2019 incompletes due.
Monday, Feb. 10 Last day to drop or change grading option of Module I courses to audit (instructor’s permission required).
Monday, Feb. 17 Presidents Day: Staff holiday.
Monday, Feb. 17 - Friday, Feb. 21 Midterm recess: No university exercises.
Monday, March 2 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses without a "W" transcript notation (instructor's permission required).
Monday, March 2 Last day for undergraduates to elect a pass/fail option for the current term and to request a "P" grade for the preceding term (at 5 p.m.)
Friday, March 6 Undergraduate midterm grades due.
Tuesday, March 17 Spring Module I grades due.
Tuesday, March 24 Last day to add Module II courses.
Monday, March 30 Last day for undergraduates to drop courses with a "W" transcript notation (instructor's permission required).
Monday, March 30 Last day for graduate students to drop semester courses or change grading basis to audit (instructor's permission required).
Tuesday, March 31 Early registration for fall term 2020 Module I and II courses for International Business School students only.
Wednesday, April 1 - Monday, April 6 Early registration period for fall term 2020.
Tuesday, April 7

Brandeis Thursday: Thursday class schedule in effect.

Tuesday, April 7 Last day to drop or change grading option of Module II courses to audit (instructor's permission required).
Wednesday, April 8 – Thursday, April 16 Passover and spring recess: No university exercises.
Monday, April 20 Patriots Day: Classes in session, staff holiday
Wednesday, April 29

Last day of instruction. Last day to voluntarily withdraw from the term (written notification required).

Thursday, April 30 - Friday, May 1 Study days.
Monday, May 4 - Tuesday, May 12 Final examination period.
Monday, May 4 Grades for May degree recipients for all courses without final exams due. For all courses with final exams, such grades are due on the third day after the examination. Late grades for May degree recipients due no later than noon on Sunday, May 10.
Tuesday, May 12 Department degree meetings.
Wednesday, May 13, at noon Residence halls close for undergraduates.
Wednesday, May 13 Last day for graduating seniors to convert current term pass/fail enrollments to a "P."
Thursday, May 14 Faculty meeting.
Sunday, May 17 Commencement.
Monday, May 18, at noon Residence halls close for all students.
Friday, May 22 All other spring term grades due.
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day: Staff holiday.
Friday, May 29 Shavuot.
Monday, June 15 All work for spring term 2020 incompletes due to instructors.