Undergraduate Advising Heads

Undergraduate Advising Heads (UAH) are faculty advisors within the various majors and minors. These faculty are a wonderful resource as you are exploring different majors and minors and they can help you better understand how the curriculum of a particular major is structured and what you would need to do to major in that field.

You will ultimately meet with the appropriate UAH to officially declare your major. Download the request form (PDF) for more information on declaring a major or minor.

Dept. / Program Fall 2018/Spring 2019 UAH
Special Major Declaration Instructions
African and African American Studies Prof. Faith Smith
American Studies Prof. Maura Farrelly
Anthropology Prof. Anita Hannig
Architectural Studies  Prof. Muna Guvenc 
Art History Prof. Peter Kalb
Biochemistry Prof. Jeff Gelles


Prof. Rachel Woodruff

Prof. Neil Simister

(please direct questions to Prof. Woodruff in Spring 2019)

Students planning to declare a major in Biology should complete the steps located here.
Biological Physics Prof. Michael Hagan
Business Prof. Hagit Weihs Students interested in a Business major must apply to the major. Information about the requirements is located here.


Prof. Barry Snider 

Prof. Milos Dolnik is responsible for minors.
Chinese Prof. Xiwen Lu
Classical Studies Prof. Cheryl Walker
Comparative Literature and Culture Prof. Matthew Fraleigh
Computer Science Prof. Antonella Di Lillo
Creative Writing

Prof. Stephen McCauley 

Prof. Elizabeth Bradfield

Creativity, the Arts, and Social Transformation Prof. Tom King
East Asian Studies Prof. Matthew Fraleigh *Important Information
Economics Prof. Scott Redenius
Education Studies

Prof. Marya Levenson (major and minor)

Prof. Joseph Reimer (Spring 2019)

Prof. Danielle Igra
(teacher education minor)

English Prof. William Flesch
Environmental Studies  Prof. Dan Perlman
European Cultural Studies Prof. Stephen Dowden
Film, Television and Interactive Media Prof. Alice Kelikian
French & Francophone Studies Prof. Michael Randall
German Studies Prof. Kathrin Seidl
Health: Science, Society, and Policy Prof. Sarah Curi Students planning to declare a major in HSSP should complete the steps located here
Hebrew Prof. Jonathan Krasner
Hispanic Studies Prof. Jeromino Arellano
History Prof. Xing Hang
History of Ideas Prof. Kate Moran
Independent Interdisciplinary Program Katy McLaughlin
(Academic Services)
International & Global Studies Prof. Chandler Rosenberger
Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies Prof. Nader Habibi
Italian Studies Prof. Paola Servino Prof. Ramie Targoff (Co-Chair)
Japanese Prof. Hisae Fujiwara
Journalism Prof. Eileen McNamara
Linguistics Prof. Lotus Goldberg
Latin American and Latino Studies Prof. Jeromino Arellano
Legal Studies Prof. Daniel Breen

Prof. An Huang

Prof. Ruth Charney

Medieval and Renaissance Studies Prof. Sarah Mead
Music Prof. Sarah Mead
Near Eastern and Judaic Studies  Prof. Jonathan Krasner
Neuroscience Prof. Paul Miller Students planning to declare a major in Neuroscience should complete the following steps located here.
Peace, Conflict, and Coexistence Studies Prof. Gordon Fellman
Philosophy Prof. Eli Hirsch
Physics Prof. Aparna Baskaran
Politics Prof. Bernard Yack
Psychology Prof. Joseph Cunningham
Religious Studies Prof. Bernadette Brooten
Russian Studies Prof. David Powelstock
Social Justice and Social Policy Prof. Melissa Stimell
Sociology Prof. Caitlin Slodden
South Asian Studies Prof. Jonathan Anjaria
Studio Art Prof. Joe Wardwell
Theater Arts

Prof. Jennifer Cleary

Prof. Adrianne Krstansky (Spring 2019)

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Prof. Jill Greenlee 
Sexuality and Queer Studies Program Prof. Jill Greenlee

updated 01/18/2019